The Prodigal Otaku

Hello, my name is Claire and I used to be an otaku.

I know, it’s hard to believe, isn’t it, being the currently successful, functioning member of society that I am. Goodness knows how I managed to complete a degree and then find myself working in an outlet for a chain of high street video rental stores with such a deep dark secret weighing on my mind, how I became the roaring success story that I am.  Sometimes in the night it gives me shivers just remembering – is it horror? Is it withdrawal? I don’t like to think about it.

The story of my addiction is one that I have rarely told, but today I share it with you in the hopes that you will not suffer the same fate I did, and perhaps to find some peace of my own in this harsh world. Staying on the wagon hasn’t been easy, oh no. But I’ve stayed strong, so far.

I started with the easy stuff, nothing hardcore. You know, your Pokemon, Digimon that sort of thing. I dabbled a bit in Monster Rancher but nothing really came of it. I stayed happy with that for a while, although the subculture that came with it slowly started to pressurise me towards the harder stuff. It wasn’t long before I was on Cardcaptors – all dubs of course, I was young and foolish, what did I know? – and from there I was using Sailor Moon to prove I was cool, that I knew what I was talking about, to prove how hard I was to the ‘in crowd’. Then it was just one magical girl anime after the other – Oh! My Goddess, Rayearth, Pretear, I couldn’t stop. At one point I was even watching Sailor Moon and Dragonball Z dubbed in Portuguese because I couldn’t get anything else. Until someone threw me a lifeline in the form of Gundam Wing.

A lifeline, you say. Surely Gundam Wing is just a road into an even seedier part of this animated underworld? Friends, it wasn’t. Gundam Wing gave me all that I needed and more. It was hard to get hold of, so I never had too much, the fandom didn’t tend towards crossovers so I was never pushed towards anything harder, and at the same time I got to know Outlaw Star. Between them, I began to ease off of the other stuff, I began to get clean. Evangelion didn’t do it for me, or Patlabor. I was safe, for a while, with just the occasional relapse. Tenchi Muyo nearly brought the whole thing tumbling down until I discovered it was a fluke, and that I really didn’t like Harem anime all that much. I will admit to crumbling and directing myself towards Fruits Basket, but that was a once-in-a-while thing, with friends. I was a social Furuba reader, that was all.

Seeing other otaku at University helped me to sort my life out.  I redirected my life along the safe path of Sci-Fi and Fantasy, only watching anime recreationally, with a group of people around me to make sure I didn’t slip back into old habits.

Then came Princess Tutu.

I’m mostly better now, I can control myself around anime. I don’t crave it like I once did. And I’m wiser – I tend to steer clear of the dubs unless they are Studio Ghibli, or an old anime I can’t bear to lose the American VAs for.  But I can cope with that.

Take inspiration from my story, your case is not a hopeless one. You too can kick the anime habit. You too can become a functioning member of society, lauded by your friends and family for your normality.

But, perhaps, life might be a little bit more fun when it’s filled with insane bright colours, music and very very short skirts. And who doesn’t like an explosion now and again?

The prodigal otaku returns.

Leave a Reply

