Dear Santa…

Dear Santa,

I realise it’s rather late notice, but I’ve finally got my Christmas list together. I understand that you might not be able to get hold of them in time for Saturday, but maybe if you can’t you could see about getting them reduced in the January sales?

1) Cardcaptor Sakura Omnibus volumes 1 and 2 (Dark Horse)

Volume one was released back in November, but I didn’t ask for it for my birthday because I wanted to get them both together. Dark Horse has continued on its mission to release omnibus editions of CLAMP’s works, following on from Clover and Chobits. Volume 2 was released today, 21st December, just in time to get them both for Christmas! If you like cute, if you like fantasy and if you like precision art and great characters (there’s a reason it’s lasted so long) then this is the right place for you.

2) Anime Legends release: Gundam Wing volumes 1 and 2 (Beez)

I know I’ve got it on video, Santa, but my video player hasn’t worked for a very long time and it would be nice to be able to actually watch it again. I was super good and didn’t buy them at Amecon when I was skint, even though I could’ve got Brad Swaile to sign them for me. The art on the covers is really pretty too. It’s probably my favourite Mecha anime, and balances action and a catchy soundtrack with excellent political machinations driving the plot. Yes, okay, the dub script is a bit duff, but that’s why we love it really.

3) Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle V2 (Del Ray Books)

I’ve read volume 1 – I know I shouldn’t have stolen Tom’s copy, but he really wasn’t using it! – and I’d rather like to find out how it resolves. Using favourite characters from a variety of CLAMP series, placed across a wonderful array of alternate dimensions, TRC is a fandom dream of opportunities. If you don’t know what it’s about by now, then go look it up – a sweeping epic romance with wonderful art, wonderful characters and CLAMP’s traditional sense of humour.

4) Full Metal Alchemist V1 (Viz)


I’ve been getting into Steampunk recently, Santa, and FMA is perhaps one of the best known steampunk manga there is. I’ve seen a bit of the original Anime, but I think it’s time to go back to basics on this one. Set in an alternate, somewhat Germanic-style world, science and magic is mixed in alchemy. The anime I saw was wonderfully dark in places, with a very sinister plot driving it along. I’ve been assured the manga is even better, so I’m desperately excited to see this!

5) The Powerpuff Girls 10th Anniversary Complete Boxset (Turner Home Entertainment)

I know it’s not strictly an anime, but there is clear influence from Japanese animation in it! Perhaps one of the most intelligent western animations I’ve seen, it boasts amongst its back catalogue: A Beatles Tribute episode, an original Rock Opera and a steampunk (yes, I’m loving it at the moment) episode. Sadly, Santa, it was a US-only release. Perhaps if you helped me out I could save a bit on the shipping rates?

6) White cat ears and tail for Cosplay
It’s for a surprise for London Anime Con. I’d really appreciate it if you could give me a hand with this one Santa. I can’t say why, but you’ll see what it’s for in February!

Thanks a bunch, Santa. I’ll catch you on Christmas Eve!

Happy Holidays,

Claire

Leave a Reply

