Makoto Shinkai: “Children Who Chase Lost Voices From Deep Below”.

Creator Makoto Shinkai even has a day dedicated to him by fans on 28th February.

A new film by Makoto Shinkai, the creator of 5cm Per Second, The Place Promised in Our Early Days and Voices of a Distant Star is to be released in Japan this Saturday.

The film, titled Children Who Chase Lost Voices From Deep Below (or Hoshi o Ou Kodomo), is set to be Shinkai’s longest animation to date. The action-adventure romance centres on Asuna, a girl whose solitary days are spent listening to the mysterious music that plays from the crystal radio gifted to her by her father, and her journey to be reunited with a boy from her past.

Children Who Chase Lost Voices From Deep Below is only Shinkai’s 4th film, though he has also produced 2 shorts and been involved in the creation of film sections in a number games. Despite this, Shinkai has built up a dedicated following of fans who have even dedicated their own day to celebrating his work.

Makoto Shinkai day falls between 27th and 28th of February, time zone dependent, and has been celebrated by fans since 2009.

A view from 5cm Per Second

A view from recent film 5cm Per Second

Notable features of Shinkai’s previous works include his animation style – which produces breath taking sky views and shows an unrivalled understanding of light and shading, and melancholy filled monologue heavy scripts, that have proven to be so effective at stirring emotions in his audience. It is unclear how closely Children Who Chase Lost Voices From Deep Below will follow these practices, but the result is sure to be exciting none the less.

Comments
7 Responses to “Makoto Shinkai: “Children Who Chase Lost Voices From Deep Below”.”
  1. John says:

    I hope he never loses sight of his reverence of Miyazaki. I love is deferential attitude when designated Miyazaki’s heir apparent. I do not know if he will ever be able to fill Miyazaki’s shoes, but I hope he tries. Miyazaki is over 70 now and will not be around forever. I am desperately seeking someone to write those whimsical, beautiful and slightly off center stories that Miyazaki brought to film. I know Makoto Shinkai is his own person and he can and should seek his own niche and place in the animation world, but I so ever love Miyazaki and to think someone might continue bringing movies in the same tone and feel as Miyazaki’s is too tantalizing…at least for me. Makoto Shinkai seems to have a gift. Perhaps if he hones his skills and writes from the heart he may surpass the mighty Miyazaki. I certainly will follow this man’s career with much interest and hope.

  2. John says:

    I would like to add a request. I know there is only one Miyazaki and he is the grand patriarch the world over for a reason, but if any one could suggest other amines that are possibly similar or I might enjoy please make suggestions. Also, please take this with serious consideration. I am no anime fanatic. I have watched some, but for the most part I am generally underwhelmed and usually disappointed. I have definitely be spoiled by the beauty of Studio Ghibli and of course Miyazaki. Grave of the Fireflies was profound. Arrietty, though Miyazaki’s hand was a part of it for sure, it of course had a different director who may hold great promise. Goro may continue to improve, I haven’t seen Poppy Hill yet, but I am tremendously excited to see it. I hope to get some serious and thought feedback. Thank you so much.

    • Tom Ormsby says:

      Takahata is a personal favourite of mine. Spends most of his time producing Miyazaki’s work, and other of the Ghibli titles, but he has directed Grave Of The Fireflies, Only Yesterday, and is reportedly working on “The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter”. Outside the Ghibli realm, there’s always Satoshi Kon, who has a bit of a darker and cynical spin to his works, including Paprika, Tokyo Godfathers, and my personal favourite Perfect Blue. As far as fun family films go though, Mamoru Hosada is probably the biggest at the moment. He’s directed The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and Summer Wars in recent years.🙂

      You can check out our review on summer wars: https://mangamarket.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/summer-wars/

      Or, of my favourite films: https://mangamarket.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/toms-top-ten-essential-anime-films-part-1/

      • John says:

        Thank you very much in responding. I would LOVE to see ‘Only Yesterday’. I think it’s a shame Disney has not released it in America. I understand it would have a very small niche audience, but it is disappointing nonetheless. Do you know of a way I could see it? I would prefer an English dub. I hope that doesn’t make me a Philistine, but I prefer to enjoy the beauty of the artwork instead of constantly reading. I am not above reading subtitles, still if I can get a dub version I always will.
        I am aware of the film ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’, I just haven’t taken the time to view it. I definitely will with your suggestion.
        What do you know of Hiromasa Yonebayashi? Is there hope he could be another heir apparent to Miyazaki? I have a bit of reservations because I am sure Miyazaki and others at Studio Ghibli had great input in the production of Arrietty. I have more hope in Makoto Shinkai because he had almost complete input to ‘Children Who Chase Lost Voices’ and ‘5 Centimeters per Second’ – the only two of his works I have seen. What is your opinion of Goro? Have you seen ‘From Up on Poppy Hill’ yet? If you have, should I be as excited as I am to see it?
        Thank you for your response. I promise I will not keep bothering you with all this. I do appreciate it though.

      • Tom Ormsby says:

        Yeah, sadly Only Yesterday is only available subtitled. You can get a subtitled copy imported from the UK. May also be able to check Australia, Hong Kong, and the like.

        Yonebayashi hasn’t really had much of a chance as a director yet, so it’s hard for me to form an opinion on him either way! Though he is certainly high regarded within the industry for his animation from what I know. I think Makoto Shinkai is an incredibly talented director, though he has a differing style and philosophy to Miyazaki. For one, he is a strong advocate of digital animation, where as Miyazaki still favours using manual techniques as much as possible. I also feel the focuses of their stories are different; whilst Miyazaki tends to build towards environmental power and inner strength, Shinkai deals a lot with internal isolation, distance and loneliness.

        As for Goro, I certainly wasn’t fond of Earthsea. I haven’t had the chance to see From Up on Poppy Hill yet, but here’s to hoping I will soon!😛

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 5) 5 Centimetres Per Second From some of the most established figures in anime and manga, we are brought to a relatively new face. Makoto Shinkai has only produced two feature length film, and yet devoted fans already dedicated a day to him! […]

  2. […] like Ghibi have made more steps towards the digital processes advocated by other directors such as Makoto Shinkai, and whilst this may take away some of the charm and intrigue of the earlier films, it provides […]



Leave a Reply

